2Pac Better Dayz Double Album Released 20 Years Ago

2Pac is as influential today as he were before his untimely demise. Yesterday marked 25 years that his R U Still Down double album was released. It was his second posthumous album that was released and first on Amaru Records. Pac recorded so many songs and it wasn’t surprising so many new songs was popping up years after he passed. It’s been rumored that 2Pac recorded over 700 songs and we know why if you watched interviews of other artists. They talked about his work ethic and how he pushed them to record as much material as possible. 20 years ago today, 2Pac dropped his 8th album and fourth posthumous project. Better Dayz was the name of it, and it also was a double album. Nas, T.I., Ronald Isley, Trick Daddy, Mya, DJ Quik, Tyrese, Anthony Hamilton and the Outlawz all made appearances.

Better Dayz went triple platinum and added to the legend of 2Pac. It features unreleased recordings from the 1994–1996 period, the majority of which are remixed mainly between Thug Life Volume 1 & The Don Killuminati: The 7 Day Theory. Thugz Mansion was the first single released from Better Dayz. Thugz Mansion was a top-5 hit and it was nominated for a Source Award. There are two versions on the album. The first one features Anthony Hamilton singing the hook and it’s a classic track. Thugz Mansion is one of the most introspective and spiritual songs by 2Pac. Thugz Mansion talks about how he would rest in peace, and that he would eventually find happiness. The other version is the acoustic one and it features Nas. I’ll be honest, having Pac and Nas on a track together was a dream seeing they’re my 3 favorite rappers.

The acoustic version of Thugz Mansion also landed on the God’s Son album from Nas. The only difference is Nas had two verses and Pac had one on his album. Still Ballin’ was the second and final single off Better Dayz. The album version featured Trick Daddy and the original had Kurupt from the Dogg Pound on it. I’m a fan of both versions and if you search online, you’ll find the original. Better Dayz was an incredible album in my eyes and one of my favorite posthumous Pac releases. Still Ballin’, Changed Man, Mama’s Just a Little Girl, Thugz Mansion and Ghetto are top-5 of Disc 1. Thugz Mansion, Who Do U Believe In, They Don’t Give a Fuck About Us, Better Dayz and My Block (Remix) from Disc 2. Below you can peep the track listing and stream link for Better Dayz.

Disc 1

  1. Intro
  2. Still Ballin’ ft. Trick Daddy
  3. When We Ride on Our Enemies
  4. Changed Man ft. T.I.
  5. Fuck ‘Em All ft. Outlawz
  6. Never B Peace ft. E.D.I. & Kastro of the Outlawz
  7. Mama’s Just a Little Girl ft. Kimmy Hill
  8. Street Fame
  9. Whatcha Gonna Do ft. Kastro & Young Noble of the Outlawz
  10. Fair Xchange ft. Jazze Pha
  11. Late Night ft. DJ Quik & Outlawz
  12. Ghetto Star ft. Nutt-So
  13. Thugz Mansion (Acoustic Version) ft. Nas & J. Phoenix


Disc 2

  1. My Block (Remix)
  2. Thugz Mansion ft. Anthony Hamilton
  3. Never Call U Bitch Again ft. Tyrese
  4. Better Dayz ft. Ron Isley
  5. U Can Call ft. Jazze Pha
  6. Military Minds ft. Cocoa Brovaz & Buckshot
  7. Fame ft. Yaki Kadafi, Kastro, Napoleon & Young Noble of the Outlawz
  8. Fair Xchange (Remix) ft. Mya
  9. Catchin’ Feelins’ ft. Yaki Kadafi, Hellraza, E.D.I. & Napoleon of the Outlawz
  10. There U Go ft. Kastro, Yaki Kadafi, Young Noble, Big Dyke & Jazze Pha
  11. This Life I Lead ft. Outlawz
  12. Who Do U believe In ft. Yaki Kadafi
  13. They Don’t Give a Fuck About Us ft. Outlawz
  14. Outro

Please follow and like us:

By Trav

8 thoughts on “2Pac Better Dayz Double Album Released 20 Years Ago”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *