A Tribe Called Quest Award Tour for Throwback Thursday

A Tribe Called Quest Award Tour for Throwback Thursday

As we continue to celebrate hip hop’s 50th anniversary, it’s hard to believe that people thought it wouldn’t last. My love for hip hop began in the mid-to-late 80s by listening to my uncle’s vinyl records. One of the first artists that caught my attention was Kool Moe Dee. Artists like Kool Moe Dee, KRS-One, Rakim, Kane, Slick Rick and many others made me like the music. In the 90s is where my love for hip hop began to grow. One of the many artists or groups that caught my attention was A Tribe Called Quest. The group consisted of Q-Tip, Phife Dawg, Ali Shaheed Muhammad and Jarobi White. My first experience with A Tribe Called Quest was their second album called The Low End Theory. They released their third album called Midnight Marauders 30 years ago today.

After releasing the Midnight Marauders joint, they solidified themselves as one of the greatest groups ever. The platinum selling Midnight Marauders album has earned numerous accolades over the years. The album has been mentioned on countless lists as one of the greatest albums ever. The album is also one of the many highlights during the second golden era of hip hop. Award Tour was their first single from the album and it’s my featured Throwback Thursday track. Award Tour has been sampled numerous times over the years. Tribe would release two more albums after this one. They dropped their final one in 2016, which was months after the passing of Phife Dawg. Check out the video for Award Tour up above. Below you can peep at the track listing and stream link for the Midnight Marauders album.

Midnight Marauders Track Listing

  1. Midnight Marauders Tour Guide
  2. Steve Biko (Stir It Up)
  3. Award Tour ft. Trugoy the Dove
  4. 8 Million Stories
  5. Sucka Nigga
  6. Midnight ft. Raphael Wiggins
  7. We Can Get Down
  8. Electric Relaxation
  9. Clap Your Hands
  10. Oh My God ft. Busta Rhymes
  11. Keep It Rollin’ ft. Large Professor
  12. The Chase Pt. 2
  13. Lyrics to Go
  14. God Lives Through

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *