Dr. Dre The Chronic Turns 30 Years Old Today

Are you an old school hip hop like myself? If so, you know that there’s a handful of albums that changed the game. The Chronic by Dr. Dre is one of those albums. As a matter of fact, the Chronic is always mentioned as one of the greatest rap albums ever. The Chronic jump started the legendary Death Row Records. The iconic Chronic album turns 30 years old today. The album also introduced the world to Snoop Dogg. Snoop Dogg dropped the iconic Doggystyle album, and it produced Nate Dogg and the Dogg Pound. The Chronic marked the first solo joint by Dr. Dre. Before this, Dre was known for being a member of the legendary N.W.A. Dre left Eazy-E and Ruthless Records to start Death Row Records with Suge Knight. The album has sold over 6 million copies to this day.

Nuthin But a “G” Thang was the first single off the album. The platinum selling single is one of the greatest tracks ever. While Deep Cover introduced the world to Snoop, but this was his coming out party. Nuthin But a “G” Thang was one of the many soundtracks to the summer of 1993. Fuck With Dre Day was the second single and this had the world talking. In the video, Dre & Snoop took aim at Eazy-E and Luke from the 2 Live Crew. The platinum selling Dre Day was another great track off the album. Once again, Snoop & Dre killed the track. Let Me Ride was the third and final single from the Chronic. Let Me Ride won Dr. Dre a Grammy award for Best Rap Solo Performance.

The late, great Jewell sing the chorus and Snoop had some background vocals. The Chronic is one of those albums you play from beginning to end without skipping a track. Fuck With Dre, Let Me Ride, Nuthin But a “G” Thang, Lil Ghetto Boy and Stranded on Death Row are my top 5 tracks. Unfortunately, the Chronic is not on any music streaming services. When Snoop Dogg acquired Death Row, he removed the music from the streaming services. Below is the track listing to the Chronic album.

  1. The Chronic (Intro)
  2. Fuck Wit Dre Day (And Everybody’s Celebratin’) ft. Snoop Dogg
  3. Let Me Ride
  4. The Day the Niggaz Took Over ft. Snoop Dogg, Daz & RBX
  5. Nuthin But a “G” Thang ft. Snoop Dogg
  6. Deeeez Nuuuuts ft. Snoop Dogg, Nate Dogg, Daz
  7. Lil Ghetto Boy ft. Snoop Dogg
  8. A Nigga Witta Gun ft. Snoop Dogg
  9. Rat-Tat-Tat-Tat ft. Snoop Dogg
  10. The $20 Sack Pyramid (Skit)
  11. Lyrical Gangbang ft. The Lady of Rage, Kurupt & RBX
  12. High Powered ft. The Lady of Rage, Daz & RBX
  13. The Doctor’s Office (Skit)
  14. Stranded on Death Row ft. Bushwick Bill, Kurupt, RBX, The Lady of Rage & Snoop Dogg
  15. The Roach (The Chronic Outro)
  16. Bitches Ain’t Shit ft. Snoop Dogg, Dogg Pound & Jewell
Please follow and like us:

By Trav

14 thoughts on “Dr. Dre The Chronic Turns 30 Years Old Today”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *