Enter the Wu-Tang 36 Chambers Album Turns 30 Years Old Today

Enter the Wu-Tang 36 Chambers Album Turns 30 Years Old Today

The Wu-Tang Clan is viewed as one of the greatest, if not the greatest group of all-time. Billboard listed them as the 2nd greatest group ever behind Outkast. 30 years ago today Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) was released. Many have called it one of the greatest hip hop albums ever. No matter how you feel about it, you can’t argue about its impact and the actual impact of the Wu-Tang Clan. We didn’t know how much of an impact the album would have then. The album itself went on to sell over 3 million copies and it launched the solo careers of almost every member of the group. Method Man would be the first of the group to release a solo album. Tical dropped almost a year to the date and Method Man sold over a million records.

You’re All I Need was the remix with Mary J. Blige and it’s a certified classic record. In March of 1995, Ol’ Dirty Bastard was the second member to drop a solo joint. Return of the 36 Chambers was its title and it went platinum also. The summer of 1995, Raekwon would drop the Only Built 4 Cuban Linx project. The Purple Tape is also widely considered to be one of, if not the greatest rap album ever. During this time, many looked at Raekwon as competition for King of New York crown with Biggie. Only Built 4 Cuban Linx would become the 3rd consecutive solo Wu joint to go platinum. Almost two years after the release of the 36 Chambers album, GZA released his solo joint. Liquid Swords was the name of his second album, and it also went platinum.

Liquid Swords is just as good as any album from anyone in the Wu-Tang Clan. Almost three years after the debut Wu-Tang album, Ghostface Killah would release his debut album. Ironman was the name of it, and this is known as a classic album amongst hip hop heads. Ironman was the only album from any member of the Wu Tang Clan to drop in 1996. In 1997, they all got back together and dropped Wu-Tang Forever, which is a double album. As you can see, there were a lot of classic records to drop after the release of Enter the Wu-Tang 36 Chambers project. Protect Ya Neck was the first single released by the Wu Tang Clan. The music video features each Wu-Tang member in black and white rapping individually with their entourage in the background.

The single was released back in December of 1992, which was almost a year before the album dropped. C.R.E.A.M. was the second single released and it dropped in January of 1994. C.R.E.A.M. stood for Cash Rules Everything Around Me and it has been sampled a lot since its release. The track is one of the greatest from the Wu and has been mentioned as one of the greatest hip hop tracks. The following month, they released their third and final single Can It All Be So Simple. Can It All Be So Simple features more from Raekwon and Ghostface Killah. Overall, Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) is one of my favorite albums of all time. During this time, we all were rocking Wu Wear and kind of adopted their grimy style. This is an album you keep in rotation.

Check out my top 5 tracks from the album and the track listing and stream link for the album.

Top 5 Tracks: Can It All Be So Simple, C.R.E.A.M., Shame on a Nigga, Wu-Tang Clan Ain’t Nuthing to Fuck Wit, and Method Man


Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) Track Listing

  1. Bring Da Ruckus
  2. Shame on A Nigga
  3. Clan in Da Front
  4. Wu-Tang: 7th Chamber
  5. Can It All Be So Simple/Intermission
  6. Da Mystery of Chessboxin’
  7. Wu-Tang Clan Ain’t Nuthing to Fuck Wit
  8. R.E.A.M.
  9. Method Man
  10. Protect Ya Neck
  11. Tearz
  12. Wu-Tang: 7th Chamber Pt. II

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *