Ghetto D from Master P Turns 25 Years Old

Master P is one of the most influential rappers to ever to touch the mic. No Limit Records is one of the more iconic hip hop labels ever. Between the mid-90s until around 2000 they had the game on lock. Master P was the CEO of No Limit and around 1998 they released an album damn near every other week. The albums they were dropping were good and it made you anticipate the next release. If you are a hip hop head I’ve stated that there are about 27 No Limit albums you should have in your possession. One of those albums is Ghetto D from Master P. Ghetto D was the follow-up to the Ice Cream Man joint. Ice Cream Man was arguably the album that put Master P on the map to most of the south. Ghetto D is the album that made the world pay attention.

In 1997, No Limit released a total of 8 albums and four the previous year. Tru 2 Da Game, Unladylike by Mia X and the I’m Bout It Soundtrack were some of the releases. Ghetto D went on to sell around three million records. One of the things I’ve always liked about their albums is that the other No Limit artists were featured. On Ghetto D, this was no different with Pimp C being the only artist not on the label featured. Speaking of Pimp C, he made his guest appearance on the first single I Miss My Homies. I Miss My Homies was the first single and it also featured Silkk the Shocker. The single eventually went gold and it’s one of the many highlights of the album.

Make ‘Em Say Uhh! Was the second single and it was a very popular track. Make ‘Em Say Uhh! featured Fiend, Silkk the Shocker, Mia X and Mystikal. Shaquille O’Neal made an appearance in the video. Make ‘Em Say Uhh! went platinum as the single came out in the beginning of 1998. The song was a prelude to what was to come from the entire No Limit camp. Ghetto D is a great album in my opinion as some publications didn’t give the project its respect. As far as the south, it’s considered a classic by many of us. Let’s Get Em, Gangstas Need Love, Bourbons and Lacs, I Miss My Homies and We Riders are my top 5 tracks. Check out the track listing and stream link to Ghetto D below.

  1. Ghetto D ft. C-Murder & Silkk the Shocker
  2. Let’s Get Em ft. Mystikal & Silkk the Shocker
  3. I Miss My Homies ft. Pimp C, Silkk the Shocker, Mo B. Dick, O’Dell & Sons of Funk
  4. We Riders ft. Mac
  5. Throw ‘Em Up ft. Kane & Abel
  6. Tryin’ 2 Do Something ft. Fiend, Mac & Mo B. Dick
  7. Plan B ft. Mia X
  8. Weed & Money ft. Silkk the Shocker
  9. Captain Kirk ft. Fiend, Silkk the Shocker & Mystikal
  10. Stop Hatin’ ft. Fiend, Silkk the Shocker, Mo B. Dick & O’Dell
  11. Eyes On Your Enemies ft. Silkk the Shocker, Mia X, Mo B. Dick & O’Dell
  12. Make ‘Em Say Uhh! ft. Fiend, Silkk the Shocker, Mia X & Mystikal
  13. Going Through Some Thangs ft. Big Ed & Mr. Serv-On
  14. Only Time Will Tell ft. Mac & Sons of Funk
  15. After Dollars, No Cents ft. Silkk the Shocker
  16. Gangstas Need Love ft. Silkk the Shocker & Mercedes
  17. Pass Da Green
  18. Come and Get Some ft. C-Murder & Prime Suspects
  19. Bourbons and Lacs ft. Silkk the Shocker, Lil Gotti & Mo B. Dick

Please follow and like us:

By Trav

7 thoughts on “Ghetto D from Master P Turns 25 Years Old”
  1. Just wish to say your article is as amazing. The clearness in your publish is just excellent and i could suppose you are an expert in this subject. Well along with your permission let me to snatch your feed to stay updated with imminent post. Thank you a million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  2. When I originally commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on every time a comment is added I receive 4 emails with the same comment. Perhaps there is a means you can remove me from that service? Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *