Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five The Message

Melle Mel has been in hip hop news lately and it’s for the wrong reasons. He went on VladTV and dissed Eminem for being considered one of the greats. The main reason he dissed Eminem is because he’s white, which is crazy to me because Eminem is dope. Eminem dissed Melle Mel, The Game and Gen-Z on the new track called Realest. The track is from EZ Mil whom Eminem just signed to a record deal. The diss was nice and Melle Mel turned around and released a diss record towards Eminem of his own. Let’s just say it wasn’t a great record. If we are being honest, the record has received nothing but bad reviews from everyone. For the ones who’s not familiar with his older stuff, Melle Mel was one of the pioneering figures of hip hop.

Melle Mel was a part of the group Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five. They consisted of Melle Mel, Grandmaster Flash, Kidd Creole, Keef Cowboy, Scorpio and Rahiem. They released one of the most influential hip hop tracks all the way back in 1982. The song is called The Message and it still ranks as one of the best hip hop records of all-time. In 2002, its first year of archival, it was one of 50 recordings chosen by the Library of Congress to be added to the National Recording Registry. It became the first hip hop record to ever achieve the honor. They released their debut album titled The Message in the fall of 1982. The Message is my Throwback Thursday track for this week. Check out the video above for The Message. Check out the track listing and stream link for The Message album.

The Message Track Listing

  1. She’s Fresh
  2. It’s Nasty
  3. Scorpio
  4. It’s A Shame (Mt. Airy Groove)
  5. Dreamin’
  6. You Are
  7. The Message
  8. The Adventures of Grandmaster Flash on the Wheels of Steel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *