Jay-Z Blueprint 2 Album Released 20 Years Ago Today

A couple days ago was the 15th anniversary of the release of Jay-Z’s American Gangster album. Today is another anniversary of another project from Jay-Z. 20 years ago today, Jay-Z dropped The Blueprint 2. As we all know this is the follow-up to the classic Blueprint album. This was around the time where Jay and Nas were engaging in their beef. You all know now that he and Nas are cool and Nas has talked about how he & Jay play about it nowadays. The Blueprint 2 was a double album with one being the Gift and the other being the Curse. The Notorious Big, Beyoncé, Dr. Dre, Rakim, Kanye West, Big Boi from Outkast and Twista were some of the features. ’03 Bonnie & Clyde was the first single to drop from the Blueprint 2. The track featured Beyoncé and it sampled 2Pac’s Me and My Girlfriend off Makaveli.

The gold selling single was released a few weeks before the album dropped. Hovi Baby was the second single and it actually didn’t come with a video. Hovi Baby was basically saying Jay only Biggie & Pac being on his level. The final single is one of my favorite tracks off the album and that’s Excuse Me Miss. Excuse Me Miss is one of the more smooth tracks from Jay-Z. for me, this would have been a classic album if it was kept to one disc. Disc One: The Gift had a number of dope tracks. Hovi Baby, Excuse Me Miss, The Watcher 2, The Bounce and Poppin’ Tags are my top 5 on Disc 1. Disc 2: The Curse had its fair share of bangers also. Meet the Parents, Some How Some Way, Some People Hate, Blueprint 2 and Diamond is Forever are my top 5.

Jay-Z has an incredible discography and Blueprint 2 is one of his better projects. Out of all 13 studio albums from Jay-Z, Blueprint 2 is somewhere in the middle of the pack. Check out the videos for ’03 Bonnie & Clyde and Excuse Me Miss up above. Below you can peep the track listing and it’s followed by the stream link.


Disc 1: The Gift

  1. A Dream ft. Faith Evans & The Notorious Big
  2. Hovi Baby
  3. The Watcher 2 ft. Dre, Rakim & Truth Hurts
  4. ’03 Bonnie & Clyde ft. Beyonce
  5. Excuse Me Miss
  6. What they Gonna Do ft. Sean Paul
  7. All Around the World ft. LaToiya Williams
  8. Poppin’ Tags ft. Big Boi, Killer Mike & Twista
  9. Fuck All Nite
  10. The Bounce ft. Kanye West
  11. I Did It My Way


Disc 2: The Curse

  1. Diamond Is Forever
  2. Guns & Roses ft. Lenny Kravitz
  3. U Don’t Know (Remix) ft. M.O.P.
  4. Meet the Parents
  5. Some How Some Way ft. Beanie Sigel & Scarface
  6. Some People Hate
  7. Blueprint 2
  8. Nigga Please ft. Young Chris
  9. 2 Many Hoes
  10. As One ft. Memphis Bleek, Beanie Sigel, Freeway, Young Gunz, Peedi Crakk, Sparks & Rell
  11. A Ballad for the Fallen Soldier ft. Marc Dorsey & Pharrell Williams
  12. Show You How
  13. Bitches & Sisters
  14. What They Gonna Do Pt. II

Please follow and like us:

By Trav

6 thoughts on “Jay-Z Blueprint 2 Album Released 20 Years Ago Today”
  1. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you are a great author.I will remember to bookmark your blog and will come back someday. I want to encourage continue your great writing, have a nice weekend!

  2. This design is spectacular! You most certainly know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  3. Hello! I’ve been reading your blog for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the great work!

  4. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thanks, However I am experiencing troubles with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I can’t subscribe to it. Is there anybody else having identical RSS problems? Anyone that knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *